The Bacon Journey

Never would I have thought I would be taking pigs to the slaughter house.  Sure, I love bacon and sausage but I didn’t think I would be raising my own.  It’s been just one more farm adventure.  What have I learned on this adventure?

It’s best when the wind doesn’t blow towards the house!  All poop stinks, but pig farming stinks big time… that’s for sure.  

Pigs have a mind of their own.  They go where they want and it’s very hard to get a 300 pound animal to do as told.  When it’s time to get in a trailer to go for “The Ride” it’s best to entice them with slop – The Last Supper.  Our pigs get the best slop from a friend of ours that owns a restraint in town.  #Nonaskitchen.  Just throw it right into the trailer… as soon as they smell it they will go right in. 

These big creatures are like dogs.  They love to play in the rain,  run through mud puddles, shake when your standing right next to them, and eat all the grub you will give them.  They love being rubbed behind the ears and sprayed with a hose. They fight like siblings, speak in grunts (like a teenager), and show excitement to the special blue bucket (the Nona’s Bucket). 

They are not pets – they are food.  It’s best not to get attached to these cuties. If you name them, do what I do and name them food names… Bacon, Chops, Sausage, and Ribs. We do what we do to provide healthy food without additives to the meat.  

A step closer to a self sufficient farming lifestyle. 

💖

Standard

Leave a comment